Canadian Drone Advisory Committee (CanaDAC)

The Canadian Drone Advisory Committee (CanaDAC) is a national forum that brings together key thought leaders and subject matter experts from a broad range of implicated sectors to encourage innovation and growth of the Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (RPAS) industry in Canada.

On this page


Drones are an emerging technology that is fundamentally changing the composition of the aviation sector, while also introducing new challenges, risks and opportunities in the process. Drones have the potential to better connect remote communities, improve overall productivity and accessibility for Canadians, and support economic opportunities for Canadian businesses.

Transport Canada’s vision is for drone operations to be safely and securely integrated into the Canadian transportation system, economy, and society. To achieve this vision, Transport Canada needs to work closely with industry and other key stakeholders in order to ensure that Canada is well-positioned to take advantage of the opportunities presented by drones, while also addressing the challenges.

About the Committee

The CanaDAC is a strategic policy forum that supports innovation and growth of the RPAS industry in Canada through contributions to Transport Canada policy development and strategic direction-setting. With this forum, Transport Canada and RPAS stakeholders are able to:

  • engage in meaningful dialogue in order to support a better shared understanding of future industry needs, directions, and constraints
  • identify emerging areas of innovation, discuss key challenges, issues and opportunities, and examine the economic, environmental and social impacts of RPAS for the Canadian industry and broader public
  • support the development of future RPAS policy and planning by TC

The CanaDAC membership includes up to 35 key thought leaders and subject matter experts from a broad range of implicated sectors, plus a small number of international observers. The committee is co-chaired by Transport Canada and by a stakeholder representative. It is convened for a two year period, and includes an estimated three meetings per year. The inaugural CanaDAC meeting was held May 12, 2021.

As an additional feature of the committee structure, there are also time-limited Task Groups.

Committee Members

Members were selected following an internal selection process by Transport Canada and serve for the full two-year CanaDAC term.

Stakeholder Group Representative


  • Ryan Coates, Director, RPAS Taskforce, Transport Canada

  • Kate Klassen, Strategy and Implementation Specialist, InDro Robotics


  • Tasneem Essaji, Director, Ontario - Ministry of Transportation, Transportation Policy, Emerging Technologies Office


  • Matthew Chandy, Director, Economic Development, Region of Waterloo

Indigenous community

  • Arnold Lazare, Program Delivery Specialist, National Indigenous Fire Safety Council – Mohawk Council of Kahnawake


  • Michael Cohen, Chairman, Unmanned Systems Canada

  • Charlotte Laramée, Vice President of Operations, Aero Montreal

  • Mike Mueller, Interim President and CEO, Aerospace Industries Association of Canada (AIAC)

  • JR Hammond, Executive Director, Canadian Advanced Air Mobility Consortium (CAAM)

Police and/or public safety organizations

  • Sorab Rupa, Chief Superintendent, National Criminal Operations, Contract and Indigenous Policing, RCMP

First Responders

  • Andy Oleson, Canadian Emergency Responders Robotics Association

  • Mike Nolan, Chief, Paramedic Service & Director, Emergency Services, Renfrew Paramedics

Navigation, Surveillance, and Air Traffic Management Capability Providers

  • Dave Sheppard, Assistant Vice President, ANS Technology Services, NAVCAN

Telecommunication Organizations

  • Aleksandar Prekajski, Technology Strategist – Emerging Technologies, TELUS

Research and Development

  • Doug Hanna, General Manager, Foremost Test Range

  • Philippe Landry-Simard, Technical and Security Advisor, UAS Cluster of Excellence, UAS Centre of Excellence

  • Charles Vidal, Program Leader, IAM, National Research Council


  • Kristen Thomasen, Assistant Professor, Peter A. Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia

  • Jeremy Laliberte, Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Carleton University


  • Kathleen Henderson, Senior Director, Operations, Environment & Regulatory Affairs, Canadian Airports Council

RPAS Manufacturers

  • Robert Rotzetter, Operations Manager, Fulcrum UAV

  • Nicholas Brodeur, Innovation Engineer, Bell Helicopter (Mirabel)

  • David Laflamme, CTO, Laflamme Aero

RPAS Operators and End Users

  • Anne-Sophie Riopel-Bouvier, Co-founder, EXO Tactik

  • Mark Wuennenberg, VP Regulatory Affairs, Drone Delivery Canada

  • Phillip Reece, President and CEO, InDro Robotics

  • Trevor Bergmann, CEO, Aerovision Canada

  • Kirt Ejesiak, Chairman and CEO, Arctic UAV

  • Brian Lundrigan, CEO, Operations Manager & Chief Pilot, RPM Aerial

Traditional Aviation Operators

  • James Ferrier, Interim President and CEO, Canadian Owners and Pilots Association (COPA)

  • Tim Perry, President, Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA) of Canada

Standards Body

  • Alejandro Trujillo, Manager, Regulatory Affairs, Standards Council of Canada

Training Providers

  • Sarah Spry, Associate Manager, Waterloo Wellington Flight Centre

  • Maxime Lapierre, Drone Stewardship Instructor, First Nations Technology Council


  • Kendra Kincade, Founder and CEO, Elevate Aviation

International Observers

International observers serve as a resource for the committee, rather than official members. They participate in committee meetings and discussions, but are not permitted to participate in Task Groups or vote on any matter brought to the committee.

International Observers

  • Sharon Rossmark, CEO, Women and Drones
  • Philip Kenul, Chair, ASTM F38 Committee on Unmanned Aircraft Systems
  • Adrienne Vanek, Director, International Division, UAS Integration Office, FAA
  • Douglas Johnson, Vice President, Technology Policy, Consumer Technology Association (CTA)


Task Group Work

Task Groups are time-limited projects set up to study a particular issue in more detail, generate recommendations, and report back to the committee. The Task Groups may be composed of select CanaDAC members, as well as other subject matter experts that are invited to participate, where appropriate.

Get PDF copies of the reports and TC responses sent to you by email.

September 22, 2022 to March 7, 2023

Advanced Air Mobility Task Group

  • TC Response to be released Summer 2023

Social Acceptance Task Group

  • TC Response to be released Summer 2023

November 30, 2021 to April 21, 2022

Research and Development Task Group

Advanced Air Mobility Task Group

Social Acceptance Task Group

How to find out more

Learn more about the CanaDAC, refer to the Terms of Reference.

Get a PDF copy of this document sent to you by email.

Contact us

If you have questions about the CanaDAC or would like to provide feedback, please contact the CanaDAC Secretariat at