List of Canada Port Authorities

From Transport Canada

Canada Port Authorities (CPA) operate at arm’s length from the federal government. CPAs are governed by a board of directors chosen by port users and the municipal, provincial and federal government.


  • set the business direction and make commercial decisions for the port
  • set their own fees (for example, berthage and wharfage fees) but such fees must be fair
  • are responsible for maintaining and dredging commercial shipping channels
  • act as landlords, leasing their port operations to private operators

As set out in the Canada Marine Act, the CPAs must be financially self-sufficient. They don’t receive federal funding to meet operating costs or deficits. CPAs finance their capital projects using their own revenues. But they can also partner with the private sector, borrow from a commercial lender or apply for certain federal grants related to infrastructure, the environment or security.

Canada Port Authorities by province

Province Name of Port Authority

British Columbia

Nanaimo Port Authority

Port Alberni Port Authority

Prince Rupert Port Authority

Vancouver Fraser Port Authority


Hamilton-Oshawa Port Authority

Toronto Port Authority

Thunder Bay Port Authority

Windsor Port Authority


Montreal Port Authority

Quebec Port Authority

Saguenay Port Authority

Sept-Îles Port Authority

Trois-Rivières Port Authority

New Brunswick

Belledune Port Authority

Saint John Port Authority

Nova Scotia

Halifax Port Authority

Newfoundland and Labrador

St. John’s Port Authority