Aircraft type designation for licensing

This web page is dedicated to Aircraft Type Designators that are endorsed on flight crew permits and licenses in accordance with Canadian Aviation Regulations (CAR) Part IV.

On this page

Blanket and individual type ratings

All aircraft types will be classified as either falling under a Blanket Rating or, will have an Individual Aircraft Type Rating assigned to be endorsed on flight crew permits and licenses in accordance with Part IV of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

  • Aircraft Blanket Type Ratings
  • Individual Aircraft Type Ratings
    • Two Crew Aeroplanes
    • High Performance Aeroplanes
    • Helicopters
    • Powered Lift
    • Airships
    • Gyroplanes – Two seats or more

Note: Medically restricted - Pilots may have a medical restriction on their permit or licence that may require an Individual Aircraft Type Rating or, they may be restricted to a specific aircraft, when that aircraft normally would fall under a blanket rating.

Aircraft with blanket type ratings

Blanket aircraft type ratings are issued automatically with the issue of the appropriate licence unless the licence is restricted to an individual aircraft type, types, or specific aircraft in which case the Individual Type Rating will be endorsed on the permit or licence. The following aircraft are classified under a Blanket Rating:

  • (a) Aeroplane (Aeroplane Licence and Recreational-Aeroplane Permit)
    All single pilot aeroplanes excluding high performance.


    1. A Recreational Permit-Aeroplane is limited to aircraft certified to carry a maximum of four persons, but the privileges restrict the Recreational Permit holder to carry no more than one passenger on board. (CAR 401.22)

    2. When an aeroplane blanket rating is endorsed on a licence it is normally combined with an aeroplane class rating. Aeroplane class ratings include a combination of the following:

      SE - Single engine
      SME – Single and Multi-engine
      SCE – Single and Centre line thrust multi-engine

      Combined with:

      L – Land S – Sea

  • (b) Gliders (Licence)
    All gliders.

  • (c) Balloons (Licence)
    All non-power driven balloons.

  • (d) Ultra-Light Aeroplanes (Permit)
    All ultra-light aeroplanes.

  • (e) Gyroplanes (Permit)
    All single seat gyroplanes.

Aircraft with individual type ratings

  • (a) Aeroplanes (Licence)

    • Individual type aeroplanes (those not included under Blanket Rating)

    • Two crew Aeroplanes

    • Two crew aeroplanes with cruise relief only

    • High Performance Aeroplanes

  • (b) Helicopters (Licence)

    All helicopters

  • (c) Powered Lift (Licence - reserved)

  • (d) Airships (Licence)

    • All power-driven balloons or airships

  • (e) Gyroplanes (Permit)

    • All gyroplanes with two seats or more

  • (f) Blanket Rating aircraft when medically restricted pilot permit or licence requires an Individual Type Rating or specific aircraft.

  • (g) Note: Flight Engineer (Licence) will also require Individual Type Rating endorsements as follows:

    • Individual type aeroplanes

    • Individual type aeroplanes with second officer rating

Individual type ratings

An individual aircraft type rating is issued for aircraft not included in a blanket type rating.

Military aircraft types that have no civilian equivalent in the Individual Type Rating Table (link below) cannot be endorsed on a TCCA permit or licence.

View the TCCA Type designator table

Aircraft certification process

Transport Canada incorporates two certification processes for new aircraft being introduced and operated in Canada - the aircraft certification itself, and the operational evaluation process. These evaluations are conducted separately.

  1. Aircraft type certification, which occurs first, results in an Aircraft Type Certificate Data Sheet (TCDS) that Transport Canada uses to assign aircraft type designators and minimum crew requirements. Transport Canada aircraft certification often recognizes the FAA Flight Standards Board (FSB) certification which is stated on the TCDS.

  2. The operational evaluation (OE) that is conducted by an Operational Evaluation Team after the certification process, results in a determination whether or not the aircraft is considered a variant of an existing type requiring additional Aircraft Differences Training. See “Aircraft Differences Training – Similar Aircraft Types” below:

    1. Aircraft Differences Training - Similar Aircraft Types - Requiring Ground Training Only
    2. Aircraft Differences Training - Similar Aircraft Types - Requiring Ground and Flight Training, but no PPC

Type certificate data sheets (TCDS) information

After aircraft type certification and operational evaluation (OE) are complete and a TCDS is issued, type designators are then established to be as consistent as possible in consultation with:

  1. Transport Canada Aircraft TCDS and Operational Evaluations (OE);

    1. Search the TCCA NICO (NAPA Issued Certificate Online) database (NAPA: National Aeronautical Product Approval)

  2. Federal Aviation Authority (FAA) TCDS and type designators;

    1. Search the FAA TCDS database

    2. Search FAA Type Designators

    3. Search FAA Dynamic Regulatory System (

  3. European Aviation Safety Association (EASA) type designators;

    1. Search EASA Type Ratings and Licence endorsement list.

  4. International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) type designators.

    1. Search ICAO Aircraft Type Designators


  1. Aircraft differences training: for aircraft that have been determined similar by aircraft certification and by an Operations Evaluation Board (OEB) report, there may be “Master Differences Requirements” between the variants for training, checking and currency requirements that must be met to transition between the different variants.

  2. Some aircraft requiring two pilots may be permitted single pilot for either VFR or IFR under specific conditions provided the single pilot skill test and applicable knowledge and experience requirements have been completed. Applicable skill test must also be completed if operating under two-crew.

  3. High performance aeroplane – As defined in subsection 400.01(1) of the CARs

  4. Airship – as defined in subsection 101.01 of the CARs. An airship type rating is endorsed on the Balloon pilot licence.


Enquiries regarding Type Designators for pilot licensing may be directed to Pilot Training & Licensing (AARTJ) at: