Canadian National Seafarers’ Welfare Board

On this page


The Seafarers’ Welfare Board (“Board”) is comprised of shipowners, seafarers’ welfare and labour representatives, port representatives and government.  The creation of the Board is aligned with provisions of the Maritime Labour Convention, 2006 (MLC 2006), and the Board has the mandate to advise the Government of Canada on issues related to the welfare and well-being of seafarers, while also enhancing and improving seafarer welfare facilities in Canada, and seafarer access to those facilities and other services that they may require.


The Seafarers’ Welfare Board is composed of:

Board executive


Debbie Murray, Senior Director, Policy and Regulatory Affairs Association of Canadian Port Authorities

Vice chairs (2):

Jason Zuidema, Executive Director, North American Maritime Ministry Association

Peter Lahay, National ITF Coordinator, International Transport Workers Federation - Canada


Julia Murphy, Director, Seafarer Certification, Transport Canada (TC), Marine Safety & Security

Board members

Seafarers welfare organizations

Chaplain Michelle DePooter, Ministry to Seafarers

Rev. Judith Alltree, The Mission to Seafarers - Canada Region

Capt. Yoss Leclerc, International Sailors' Society Canada

Ray Hanna, Lighthouse Harbour Ministries

Deacon Dileep Athaide, Stella Maris


Albert Batten, Vice-President, International Longshoremen's Association

Dan Kimmerly, British Columbia Ferries Marine Workers’ Union

Joy Thomson, Canadian Merchant Service Guild

Karl Risser, ITF Inspector, International Transport Workers Federation – Canada

Nathan Smith, ITF Inspector, International Transport Workers Federation - Canada

Vince Giannopoulos, ITF Inspector, representing International Transport Workers Federation – Canada and the Seafarers’ International Union (SIU)


Chad Allen, Director, Marine Operations, Shipping Federation of Canada

Clifford Faleiro, Senior Operations Manager North America, Saga Welco AS

Jean-François Belzile, Director of Operations, Port of Montreal

Karen Kancens, Vice-President, Shipping Federation of Canada

Lanna Hodgson, Secretary General, International Ship-owners Alliance of Canada

Paul Topping, Director, Regulatory & Environmental Affairs, Chamber of Marine Commerce

Robert Lewis-Manning, President, Chamber of Shipping

Meeting agendas

Related links