Getting your vessel of 24 metres and above inspected and certified

All large commercial marine vessels of 24 metres and above must be inspected and certified. In order to operate your Canadian-flagged vessel, you must have a valid Inspection Certificate.

This is done through the Delegated Statutory Inspection Program. Third-party organizations, known as “recognized organizations,” do the inspections under the authority of Transport Canada.

On this page

Delegated Statutory Inspection Program

Under our Delegated Statutory Inspection Program, inspection and certification of large commercial vessels must be done by a recognized organization, as stated in Transport Canada's policy Certification of vessels of 24 metres in length and above.

A recognized organization is a classification society that has an authorization agreement with Transport Canada to inspect and certify vessels.

List of recognized organizations

To request inspection and certification services, contact any of the following recognized organizations:

American Bureau of Shipping
Flag Contact
Abdullah Jamaly
Senior Surveyor, Canada

Address:
275 Slater Street, Unit 1003
Ottawa ON K1P 5H9
Cellphone: 709-730-6922
Email: ajamaly@eagle.org
Email: ABSEasternCanada@eagle.org
Web site: ww2.eagle.org

Western Canada
Eugene Cai
Principal Surveyor, Vancouver Port
Address:
303-850 Harbourside Drive
North Vancouver BC V7P 0A3
Telephone: 1-604-986-0811
Fax: 1-604-986-0819
Cellphone: 1-604-760-0359
Email: ecai@eagle.org
Eastern Canada
Neil Britt
Senior Principal Surveyor in Charge – Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic Canada
Address:
275 Slater Street, Unit 1003
Ottawa ON K1P 5H9
Cell 506-651-3784
Email: nbritt@eagle.org
ABSToronto@eagle.org
Bureau Veritas
Darrell Ashley
Ship in Service Operational Manager East Side
Address:
Bureau Veritas Marine (Canada) Inc.
25 rue du Marché-Champlain, Suite 403
Québec, QC, G1K 4H2
Telephone: 418-914-1741
Cellphone: 418-806-3835
Email: darrell.ashley@bureauveritas.com
Romain Benoit
Country Marine Manager
Address:
Bureau Veritas Marine (Canada) Inc.
25 rue du Marché-Champlain, Suite 403
Québec, QC, G1K 4H2
Telephone: 418-914-1741
Cellphone: 514-613-5365
Email: romain.benoit@bureauveritas.com
Rogier Rust
Ship in Service Operational Manager West
Address:
Bureau Veritas Marine (Canada) Inc.
535 Thurlow Street, Suite 803
Vancouver, BC, V6E 3L2
Telephone: 604-689-1355
Cellphone: 778-994-2824
Email: rogier.rust@bureauveritas.com
ClassNK
Mr. Ryosuke Okabe
Country Manager
Address:
902-700 Pender St. W
Vancouver, BC V6C 1G8
Telephone: 604-685-2121
Fax: 604-685-7631
Cellphone: 604-230-9687
Email: r-okabe@classnk.or.jp
Office email: vc@classnk.or.jp
DNV GL
Mehmet Soygur
Senior Surveyor, Halifax
Address:
99 Wyse Road, Suite 900
Dartmouth, NS B3A 4S5
Telephone: 902-464-0905
Fax: 902-464-0516
Cellphone: 902-880-0894
Email: mehmet.soygur@dnvgl.com
Office email: halifax.maritime@dnvgl.com
Burhan Ozan
Station Manager, Montreal
Address:
4100 Molson, Suite 100
Montreal, QC H1Y 3N1
Telephone: 514-861-0660
Fax: 514-861-7557
Cellphone: 514-974-1658
Email: burhan.ozan@dnvgl.com
Office email: montreal.maritime@dnvgl.com
Keith Downey
Senior Surveyor, St. John’s
(main point of contact for DNV GL)
Address:
121 Kelsey Drive, Suite 200
St. John's, NL A1B 0L2
Telephone: 709-733-3150
Fax: 709-733-3130
Cellphone: 709-631-8047
Email: keith.downey@dnvgl.com
Office email: st.johns.maritime@dnvgl.com
Yuksel Ozdemir
Senior Principal Surveyor, Vancouver
Address:
1102-1166 Alberni Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 3Z3
Telephone: 604-689-7425
Cellphone: 604-354-3678
Email: yuksel.ozdemir@dnvgl.com
Office email: vancouver.maritime@dnvgl.com
Korean Register
Chang-hyon Lee
Surveyor, Vancouver Office
Address:
9564 208B St. Langley
BC Canada, V1M 2C5
Cellphone: 778-899-8849
Email: chyonlee@krs.co.kr
Office email: vancouver@krs.co.kr
Jung-kun Lee
General Manager
Convention & Legislation Service Team
Address:
36, Myeongji Ocean City 9-ro
Gangseo-gu, Busan, 618-814
Rep. of Korea
Telephone: +82 70 8799 8320
Cellphone: +82 10 3594 8042
Fax: +82 70 8799 8339
Email: convention@krs.co.kr
Lloyd's Register
Jasmeet Judge
Area Operations Manager
Address:
Lloyd's Register Canada Limited
506-5420 North Service Road,
Burlington, ON L7L 6C7
Telephone: (905) 631-9420
Cell: (514) 757-2995
Email: jasmeet.judge@lr.org
Secondary Email: canada.dsip@lr.org
Ben Thompson
Marine Business Development Manager
Western Canada
Address:
Lloyd's Register Canada Limited
501 - 221 West Esplanade,
North Vancouver, BC V7M 3J3
Telephone: 604-985-0477
Fax: 604-985-0637
Email: ben.thompson@lr.org
RINA Services, SpA
Maurizio Nigito
Senior Marine Director
Address:
RINA Services SpA
9900 Boulevard Cavendish, Suite 350
Saint-Laurent QC H4M 2V2
Telephone: 514-866-9494
Fax: 514-866-1259
Cellphone: 954-646-9146
Email: Maurizio.Nigito@rina.org
Office email: canada.marine@rina.org
Cristina Melado
Canada Marine Director
Address:
RINA Services SpA
9900 Boulevard Cavendish, Suite 350
Saint-Laurent QC H4M 2V2
Telephone: 514-866-9494
Cellphone: 514-968-2751
Email: Cristina.Melado@rina.org
Office email: canada.marine@rina.org
Pablo G. Iglesias
Marine Office Head
Address:
RINA Services SpA
9900 Boulevard Cavendish, Suite 350
Saint-Laurent QC H4M 2V2
Telephone: 514-866-9494
Cellphone: 439-830-9498
Email: Pablo.Iglesias@rina.org
Office email: canada.marine@rina.org
 

How to request an exemption from the Delegated Statutory Inspection Program

Transport Canada recognizes that certain vessels may not be able to enroll in the Delegated Statutory Inspection Program ( DSIP ). This may be due to factors such as economic hardship or the refusal by a recognized organization to provide services (for reasons such as your vessel's construction material or age). In such rare cases, owners request an exemption from the DSIP by:

  1. Following the Procedure for exemption from the Delegated Statutory Inspection Program
  2. Filling out the form Application for exemption from required participation in the delegated statutory inspection program.
  3. Sending your form with supporting documentation to DSIP-PDIO@tc.gc.ca

When an exemption is granted, Transport Canada will offer vessel inspection and certification services in relation to the specific vessel.

Canada-US Memorandum of Cooperation for oversight of mutually recognized organizations

The US Coast Guard and Transport Canada signed a new Memorandum of Cooperation that provides a framework for sharing and coordinating information from third party recognized organizations that carry out inspection and certification activities of commercial vessels on behalf of both governments.

Currently, the US Coast Guard and Transport Canada each have agreements with the following classification societies: American Bureau of Shipping, Lloyd’s Register, DNV-GL, Bureau Veritas, RINA Services and Class NK. Sharing the general performance of these recognized organizations increases the scope of each government’s oversight activities. It also relieves the regulatory burden on the recognized organizations by reducing their need to duplicate oversight activities.

This memoradum aligns with the International Maritime Organization’s (IMO) Code for Recognized Organizations, which took effect on January 1, 2015. We expect the memorandum can also serve as a model for other IMO member states.

Please direct your questions about the memorandum to both:

Contact Marine Safety

For questions about inspections and certification

For comments and concerns relating to Domestic Vessel Regulatory Oversight

Address:
Transport Canada
Marine Safety (AMSA)
Tower C, Place de Ville
330 Sparks Street, 11th Floor
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0N5

Email: insp.stand-norm.insp@tc.gc.ca
Telephone: 1-855-859-3123 or 613-991-3135
Teletypewriter / TDD: 1-888-675-6863
Fax: 613-991-4818