Domestic Ferries Security Regulations

The Domestic Ferries Security Regulations (DFSR) take a risk-management approach to enhancing Canadian ferry security. The Regulations provide a framework to detect security threats and take measures to prevent security incidents that could affect domestic ferries and their facilities. The DFSR:

  • Set out operator and personnel roles and responsibilities for developing security plans and putting them into action;
  • Provide a way to conduct security assessments, to establish adequate security protocols, and to properly document and report; and,
  • Provide Transport Canada with a means of overseeing and enforcing domestic ferry service security.

The DFSR apply to only those routes classified as most vulnerable. This:

  • Makes the most efficient use of resources;
  • Limits the burden of industry personnel and operations; and
  • Allows an effective regulatory oversight program.

The DFSR currently apply to about 50 ferries operating on 18 routes to 29 ferry facilities across Canada:

BC Ferries Horseshoe Bay - Departure Bay
Horseshoe Bay - Langdale
Prince Rupert - Port Hardy
Prince Rupert - Skidegate
Tsawwassen - Duke Point
Tsawwassen - Swartz Bay

Translink – Coast Mountain Bus Company (SeaBus)

Vancouver Waterfront – Lonsdale Quay


City of Toronto

Mainland Ferry Docks – Centre Island
Mainland Ferry Docks – Hanlan's Point
Mainland Ferry Docks – Ward's Island

Toronto City Centre Airport

Toronto Mainland – Toronto Island


La Société des traversiers du Québec

Québec – Lévis
Tadoussac – Baie-Sainte-Catherine
Sorel-Tracy – Saint-Ignace-de-Loyola


Marine Atlantic

North Sydney – Argentia
Port aux Basques – North Sydney


Halifax Metro Transit

Halifax – Dartmouth
Halifax – Woodside

TC monitors the domestic ferry industry to see if the DFSR should apply to new operators.

Full details on the DFSR can be found through the Department of Justice website.