List of airports owned by Transport Canada

We own two types of Canadian airports:

  1. Airports that offer local, regional or remote service
  2. Larger airports serving national, provincial and territorial capitals, which we own and third parties operate

The National Airports System also includes three airports owned and operated by territorial governments.

Service standards for TC owned airports

Transport Canada provides services at the airports that we own and operate. These service standards state the level of performance that citizens can reasonably expect to encounter from Transport Canada under normal circumstances.

Small airports owned by Transport Canada

Province/Territory Airport Operated by
British Columbia Penticton Transport Canada
#109-3000 Airport Road
Penticton, BC V2A 8X1
(250) 770-4414
  Port Hardy Transport Canada
P.O. Box 460
3675 Byng Road
Port Hardy, BC V0N 2P0
(250) 949-6424
  K’il Kun Xidgwangs Daanaay Transport Canada
P.O. Box 439
Sandspit, BC V0T 1T0
(250) 637-1149
  Victoria Harbour Transport Canada
12 Erie St.
Victoria, BC V8V 1Y4
(250) 363-3578
Manitoba Churchill Transport Canada
P.O. Box 1059
Churchill, Manitoba R0B 0E0
(204) 675-8868
Quebec Chevery Municipalité de la Côte Nord du Golfe St-Laurent
Chevery, QC G0G 1G0
(418) 787-2215
  Lourdes-de-Blanc-Sablon Transport Canada
Airport Road
Lourdes-de-Blanc-Sablon, QC G0G 1W0
(418) 461-2514
  Sept-Îles Transport Canada
1000 boul. Laure est
C.P. 2001
Sept-Îles, QC G4R 4K2
(418) 962-8211
  Natashquan Municipality of Natashquan
Airport Road
Natashquan, QC G0G 2E0
(418) 726-3273
  Eastmain River Transport Canada
c/o Band Council
Eastmain, QC J0M 1W0
(819) 977-0333
  Havre Saint-Pierre Transport Canada
1550 B route de l'Aéroport
Havre-Saint-Pierre, QC G0G 1P0
(418) 538-0627
  Îles-de-la-Madeleine Transport Canada
1-210, chemin de l’Aéroport
Havre-aux-Maisons, QC G4T 5L2
(418) 969-2180
  Waskaganish Transport Canada
c/o Band Council
Waskaganish, QC J0M 1R0
(819) 895-8925
  Kuujjuaq Kativik Regional Government
C.P. 9
Kuujjuaq, QC J0M 1C0
(819) 964-2968
  Schefferville Schefferville Airport Coorporation
78 Atlantic Road
Schefferville, QC G0G 2T0
(418) 585-3544
  Wemindji Transport Canada
c/o Band Council,
Wemindji, QC J0M 1L0
(819) 978-3936
Newfoundland Wabush Transport Canada
2 Airport Road
Wabush, NL A0R 1B0
(709) 282-5412
  St. Anthony Transport Canada
1 Airport Road
St. Anthony, NL A0K 4S0

The following 23 airports are owned by Transport Canada and leased to Canadian airport authorities. 21 airport authorities operate these airports, with Mirabel and Montreal Trudeau operated by the same authority. Kelowna (YLW) is the only airport listed that’s not operated by an airport authority. The City of Kelowna operates this airport under a long-term lease with Transport Canada.

The 21 airport authorities operate pursuant to the Airport Transfer (Miscellaneous Matters) Act. They are not-for-profit, non-share capital corporations. The federal government may nominate up to 2 people to each airport authority’s board of directors.

National Airports System

Province/Territory Airport Operated by
British Columbia Victoria (YYJ) Victoria Airport Authority
  Vancouver (YVR) Vancouver International Airport Authority
  Prince George (YXS) Prince George Airport Authority Inc.
  Kelowna (YLW) City of Kelowna
Alberta Edmonton (YEG) Edmonton Regional Airports Authority
  Calgary (YYC) Calgary Airport Authority
Saskatchewan Saskatoon (YXE) Saskatoon Airport Authority
  Regina (YQR) Regina Airport Authority
Manitoba Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson (YWG) Winnipeg Airports Authority Inc.
Ontario Thunder Bay (YQT) Thunder Bay International Airports Inc.
  London (YXU) Greater London International Airports Authority
  Toronto Pearson (YYZ) Greater Toronto Airports Authority
  Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier (YOW) Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport Authority
Quebec Montréal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau (YUL) Aéroports de Montréal
  Mirabel International Airport (YMX) Aéroports de Montréal
  Québec City Jean Lesage (YQB) Aéroport de Québec Inc.
New Brunswick Fredericton (YFC) Fredericton International Airport Authority
  Greater Moncton (YQM) Greater Moncton International Airport Authority Inc.
  Saint John (YSJ) Saint John Airport Inc.
Prince Edward Island Charlottetown (YYG) Charlottetown Airport Authority Inc.
Nova Scotia Halifax Stanfield (YHZ) Halifax International Airport Authority
Newfoundland Gander (YQX) Gander International Airport Authority Inc.
  St. John’s (YYT) St. John’s International Airport Authority

National Airport System airports owned and operated by territorial governments

Territory Airport Operated by
Northwest Territories Yellowknife (YZF) Government of the Northwest Territories
Nunavut Iqaluit (YFB) Government of Nunavut
Yukon Erik Nielson Whitehorse International (YXY) Government of Yukon